What is LEED?

LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is a green building certification program used worldwide. Developed by the non-profit U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), it includes a set of rating systems for the design, construction, operation and maintenance of buildings, which aims to help building owners and operators be environmentally responsible and use resources efficiently.

Levels of certification

Buildings can qualify for four levels of certification:

  • Certified: 40–49 points
  • Silver: 50–59 points
  • Gold: 60–79 points
  • Platinum: 80 points and above

One example of platinum certified building in Hong Kong is One Taikoo Place. It has achieved 34% reduction in annual energy consumption and is one of the highest energy performance buildings in Hong Kong.